Skip to content

Go To Your Room

December 17, 2011

A few weeks ago, a friend sent me a link to a story on temper tantrums and I laughed. “We’ve got some time before we have to deal with that,” I thought. I wasn’t laughing so hard today when my wife called to tell me that my 11 month old was in her room screaming and throwing toys because she didn’t want to take a nap. At what point did my daughter decided that ripping sheets off the bed and shaking the baby gate was a good way to express dissatisfaction with nap-time procedure?

A recent story on NPR’s Health Blog reports that scientists have discovered patterns in temper tantrums. “Screaming and yelling and kicking often go together,” notes one particularly astute researcher.

If only I had known that sooner…

Here are my top 5 techniques to deal with screaming, yelling, and kicking that often go together.

1) Ice Cream -you can’t be angry when you’re eating ice cream

2) Look at baby pictures – weren’t they cute…5 minutes ago

3) Vent to your spouse – it’s probably their fault anyway

4) Plan revenge – “That’s right honey…I’m chaperoning your Prom”

5) Throw a tantrum yourself – someone has to be the adult…it’s their turn for awhile

 

Seriously though….How do you deal with tantrums???

 

4 Comments
  1. Trina permalink

    This just started for us. Anyone that has anyways they handle this for their children please comment. I would really benifit from the solutions.

  2. Brilliant! Funny! Though I do know some children don’t throw tantrums. I believe it might be genetic. Perhaps that NPR researcher could double check.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Have We Entered the Terrible Two’s??? « amummysview
  2. Meltdown's: Have We Entered the Terrible Two's??? - A Mummy's View

Leave a Reply

